Regent House is one of the largest providers of the Award Scheme in the board area.

The school is in the very fortunate position of being able to offer all three levels of the award.


Residential Activities 2017


Bronze

The Bronze section is run by Miss. R Bell.  Pupils begin their Bronze award around Christmas in Year 10.  The scheme is very popular and due to health and safety reasons the number of pupils who can enroll is restricted.  A selection process is carried out and a maximum of seventy pupils are registered.  Pupils complete a practice expedition in May and the qualifying expedition takes place after the summer examinations.

 Silver

The Silver section is run by Dr Morrison.  Pupils must have completed their Bronze award before being allowed to progress to Silver.  Registration for Silver takes place in October/ November time of Year 11.  A maximum of forty nine pupils can be accommodated at Silver.  A training residential is completed at Killyleagh in December; the practice expedition generally takes place in May and the qualifying expedition after the summer examinations.

Gold

The Gold section of the award is run by Miss Green.  Pupils must have completed their Silver award before being allowed to progress to Gold.  Pupils can register for the Gold award in Year 13.  They must have all sections of the award completed and evidence uploaded on to their Duke of Edinburgh’s account before being allowed to complete their Gold expedition in year 14.  In Year 14 pupils complete 2 training days, a 2 day practice expedition and a four day qualifying venture.


Exact details of what is involved in the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Scheme can be found on official website of the scheme.

Important Dates


Bronze

Practice expedition
Friday 2nd June (evening) - Saturday 3rd June

Qualifying expedition
Friday 16th June - Saturday 17th June

Silver

Training at Killyleagh
Monday 12th – Wednesday 14th December

Practice expedition
Thursday 4th May (evening) - Saturday 6th May

Qualifying expedition - 7 staff
Thursday 8th June - Saturday 10th June

Gold

Training days
Tuesday 21st March
Wednesday 29th March

Practice expedition
Friday 31st March (evening) - Sunday 2nd April

Qualifying expedition
Friday 23rd – Monday 26th June

Friday 30th June - Monday 3rd July – due to external examination